Isolation Improvisation Collective 'Telematic Music' BOOK/DIGITAL

Regular price $19.00

(Book comes with instant free digital music download)

NM presents its first printed book release, 'Telematic Music' - an ecstatic documentation of the Melbourne-based Isolation Improvisation Collective's ongoing remote studies, presented through visual art and writing.

Led by composer/sound engineer Patrick Telfer, IIC periodically engages over 30 of Melbourne's brightest improvising musicians and performers, 27 of which feature on the delicately assembled recordings accompanying this publication in digital format. The results are often in turn startlingly ornate, melodically tantalising and subtly permeable in their occasionally self destructive dissonance. Rather than presenting as hosting movements or cues, the four pieces all seem powered simply by fluid swathes of their collective transmutable energy - no small triumph whilst conducted via the imperfect teleconferencing technology thrust upon us in 2020.

Briony Barr's molten visual scores and abstract illustrative interpretations couple with crisp, keen art direction to act as a pivotal aesthetic and functional framework for how IIC's output is presented - both to the observer and to players within the collective alike.
The publication is bookended with short essays on improvisation and the climate/setting for IIC's work, contributed by writers Caitlyn Lesiuk and Tim Deane-Freeman, plus an insightful manifesto from Telfer himself.

NB. download and streaming of this release is available as a standalone, all purchases of the limited edition printed book edition of 'Telematic Music' also come with a digital download.

released November 16, 2020

Nice Music 2020
49 minutes

Briony Barr
Yoni Bresley
Jack Burton
Kathleen Campone
Flora Carbo
Theo Carbo
Isha Ram Das
Tim Deane-Freeman
Charlie Evans
Grace Ferguson
Genevieve Fry
Giovanna Yate Gonzalez
Wade Keighran
Caitlyn Lesiuk
Gordon Li
Monica Lim
Esala Liyanage
Anthony Lyons
Ceridwen McCooey
Hannah McKittrick
Emma McMahon
Hardy Mills
Eva Sunny Reyne
Joel Robertson
Dylan Paul
Patrick Telfer
Lachlan Thompson
Sophie Weston